Hutt Law, P.C.
Personal Legal

Understanding the different types of cerebral palsy

by | Jun 3, 2022 | Birth Injuries

For most parents, having a baby is a wonderful experience. The excitement and anxiety of becoming a new parent momentarily overshadow the complexities of the pregnancy and birth process. Unfortunately, there are times when complications may arise during the pregnancy or birth that pose a serious risk to the both mother and child.

One of the common injuries an infant can sustain during birth is cerebral palsy. Basically, this is a general term used to describe injuries resulting from brain damage following trauma or lack of oxygen. Depending on the extent of damage to the brain, cerebral palsy can range from mild to severe.

Here are the types of cerebral palsy injuries an infant is likely to sustain during birth.

Spastic cerebral palsy

Also known as hypertonic cerebral palsy, this is the most common form of cerebral palsy accounting for over 70% of the cases. Spastic cerebral palsy happens when the infant’s motor cortex is damaged during birth. Some of the symptoms of spastic cerebral palsy may include exaggerated or awkward movements, stiffness on one side of the body or muscle tightening.

Hypotonic cerebral palsy

Also known as atonic cerebral palsy, this is a rare form of cerebral palsy that accounts for approximately 3% of the cases. This type of cerebral palsy develops when the infant’s cerebellum is damaged during birth. Hypotonic cerebral palsy is characterized by low muscle tone that results in weak and floppy muscles. Infants with this type of cerebral palsy may exhibit the following symptoms: poor balance, feeble muscle and lack of head control.

A birth-related injury can be caused by a number of factors. If your little one’s cerebral palsy is attributable to the healthcare provider’s negligence, you should consider pursuing a birth injury lawsuit against the health care provider.

Share This